Currently playing (a kinda game review)

So, GamesCom is still around and while  I could post yet another article about future games, I want to talk about a bit about the games I’m currently playing. The list isn’t sorted in any way and while I already finished one or another I still play them😉

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4)

After already playing this MMO on the PS3 last year I took some time of to wait for the PS4 release and me actually having the console to play it again. I still enjoy the game, though I do know the whole story. As I’m streaming the game on twitch.tv I started with a new character on the Cerberus server. The commentary is German, though, so you don’t have to suffer my English😉
FFXIV is – for me – one of the best games in the series since a long time. Yes, it is a MMO and you have to pay a monthly fee to play it but it’s everything a good RPG needs and has a lot of the things I liked in the older Final Fantasy titles.

Air Conflict: Vietnam (PS4)

I’m currently test playing this for a review and I won’t say too much about it at this time. As the name suggests, it’s an war game focussed solely on flyiing around as an US soldier in the US-Vietnamese war. The game actually is an “ultimate edition”, which means it’s a remastered version of a PS3 game which came out last year. But contrary to remastered titles like The Last of Us and Tomb Raider, this game doesn’t have stunning graphics or gorgeous-looking cut scenes. Both are well……fitting for an okay PS3 game but nothing too fancy.
And then the story which centers around what may be the most controversial war after WWII. I’m not far into the game right now but I have no idea where the game will go. Right now we’re made into a hero from our family and wife through letters we receive. If this will change? I hope so, I guess. I’m neither an pacifist nor a patriot but I can’t think about a scenario which is less heroic than what the US did in Vietnam… Well, wait and see?

Sniper Elite III – Africa (PS4)

Yet another test game which seems like a mix of the stealth-action of Metal Gear Solid and a tactical shooter. Being a sniper means a lot of scouting, looking for cover and making sure no one even knows where you are or that you even exist. But not all maps are made for sniping around fro 500m away. In some you come face-to-face with your enemies and getting rid of them silently as possible is key to survival.
The game’s gore level are high, really high due to the bullet-time cut scenes showing you quit in detail how you killed the soldiers. Oh, the story centers around WWII in Africa where you are deployed as an elite sniper (hence the title) to take out major targets and help to win the war against the Axis.

Watch_Dogs (PS4)

As FFXIV I already played this on the PS3 but I still like the game enough to play it again. The graphics ARE better than on the PS3 but still have some of the same issues which may be down to the fact that the game WAS publish on both plattforms and had to be optimised as far as possible.
Still, the game is far from perfect and more or less only serves as a quick go-to game for me if I don’t want to pay too much attention to what I do. And maybe I’ll even finish the game once more and like it more than I did before?
I still hope, Ubisoft will make a sequel for it and it will be better than the first game.

Crusader Kings II (Mac)

As a fan of fantasy and historic scenarios I really enjoy Paradox’ games quit a bit. The only problem is: my MacBook is waaaaay too old for their latest games and I miss out on a lot of good stuff. Still, CKII runs just fine and I really like it. Playing as a duke or count in the ‘dark middle age’, it really is fun to play the game of thrones😉 Even without George R. R. Martin’s books.
What I would like to play by Paradox, though, would be Europa Universalis IV. Which just looks gorgeous and fantastic and everything😉

Leave a Reply

