2014 Coming outs

Note: this isn’t a post about LBGT.

Amidst the Leipzig Book Fair, the game Developers Conference, first hints of the E3 and many other conventions this year (did I mention I’m going to GamesCom again?) there are games, books, movies and TV series coming out. Some of the games I’ll never play (because of reasons mentioned here), others just don’t interest me at all. The ‘rest’ I can’t wait to get my hands on. The same goes for books and movies.

Following is a small list of things I’m eagerly anticipating, sorted by… nothing my subconscious.

books: despite – or because? – of sitting right at the source there’s not that much on my personal wish list here. I’m eager to sell a lot of newcomers this year but my pile of unread books at home is huge enough already (more on that later?).
So on the top of my head, there’s nothing on the list here.

movies: Captain America: Winter Soldier for starters. I love the Marvel movies (well, apart from that one) and even if the Captain is a bit too much patriotism for me, I’m sure I’ll like it just as well.

Next up: X-Men: Days of Future Past. Marvel once again and the sequel to X-Men: First Class which was one of my favourites in the X-Men universe so far. And a movie with James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Ian McKellen AND Patrick Stewart can’t be too bad, can it?

Then there’s the final Hobbit movie coming out and I surely want to see that one. Though not in a league with Lord of the Rings the movies are great in themselves and having seen the first two, there’s not much choice, is there?

Oh, and I nearly forgot: Amazing Spiderman 2, yet another Marvel movie. What can I do, I like them😉

 

series: That one is pretty hard, too, albeit not that one-sided. Hard, because essentially I “only” have to catch up to all the series I like, which is a lot. So all the things I’m really looking forward to this year are those I’ve already seen to their end. Which means: Sherlock and Doctor Who. Both British, both BBC, both by Steven Moffat. Both with large and loud fanbases I’m not going to argue against/with.

 

games: Easy picks here, so just a “short” list:

Watch_Dogs (May 27): An Orwell’s 1984-themed sandbox game from Ubisoft? Yeah, no-brainer.

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (March 20): does it need saying? See here

Assassin’s Creed V (??): No infos here and I really don’t need any. I want it, no matter what.

The Order: 1886 (??): Steampunk meets werewolves meets Third-Person-Shooter meets great trailers. I’m excited

Tom Clancy’s The Division and The Elder Scrolls Online both depend on my wallet and my mood. I’d like to at least test them both, but with Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn I already have a paid MMO and I’m not sure how much I’m going to play that in the next month. There are just way too many games for me to play a subscription based game. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind the costs too much. I just think I wouldn’t make the most of them if I add two more of them. And it’s not even really clear how The Division really works.

 

Lots to do overall and I’m sure I missed a ton. Not to mention all those things not even announced yet. And all the things I haven’t even finished or touched yet. The day really needs way more hours….

Leave a Reply

