Viva La PS Vita?!

I have my PS Vita for roughly two years now (since March ’12) and I had some great gaming experiences with Sony’s latest handheld. Which is exactly the problem: some. I loved Uncharted: Golden Abyss, I really looked forward to Assassin’s Creed III: Liberations and was mildly disappointed by it (it’s not bad, per se, it’s just not as good as I hoped, very much like AC III in itself).

But apart from those two and several other highly acclaimed titles (Gravity Rush, Killzone: Mercenaryand Tearaway come to mind), I’m still waiting for a game which really does it for me. Which I’ll play for 40 hours and still want more of, which really pushes the hardware to its limits instead of giving me a pixelated sidescroller which would’ve run on any PSP or even on a GameBoy Colour.

During the ‘Game of the Year 2013’ nominations show by Gamespot.com (watch here) I tweeted:

 

Unbenannt

 

Which actually was discussed (I’ll edit the exact time later) and made me wish I had phrased that tweet way better. The following twitter discussion with @IDontDoSport was a bit clearer, though (see here).

My real problem is that the PSVITA is bumped with really good hardware and the OLED-Display supports HD graphics without a problem. Yet far too less titles make use of both. Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified looks like it’s an PS2 port, FIFA Football (and FIFA 13 as far as the reviews can tell) uses the same engine as FIFA 11 and therefore lacks significant gameplay features, there are NO cross-plattform features or different commentator languages. The free(!) iPhone app of FIFA13 looks better than the PSV version (and buying the full game upgrades is far cheaper than the PSV version will ever be) and I can even download the small commentator language patch without a problem. 

Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate  even is ‘just’ a 2,5D sidescroller and nothing like the open world action-adventure series the fans love so much.

Final Fantasy Type-0 (formerly known as Final Fantasy XII agito) did came out, but only in Japan, with not a word about a western localization.

And those are just some of the larger publishers.

Uncharted: Golden Abyss looked gorgeous, made full use of nearly any feature the PS VITA has to offer and even was one of the launch titles. Was it wrong to hope for more games like this one? Will there be no games like Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker or Final Fantasy VII: Crisis Core – games, you WISH you could play on the big screen, over and over again? Heck, I’d be happy if I could play Crisis Core on my VITA!

But alas. Apparently I have to settle for sicescrollers, PS2 ports and a kind off AAA title every other year. Or Football Manager 2014,  my current Most Wanted for the PS VITA.

Guess I just misjudged the selling point of Sony’s handheld. Casual games aren’t my forte. I love big games and I cannot lie…

Leave a Reply

